Press Releases

Bacon’s LEOSA Bill Passes House Offers Real Solutions to Terrorism and Mass Shootings

Washington – Rep. Don Bacon’s (NE-02) Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), H.R. 354, was passed by the House of Representatives today, in a 221-185 vote. Eighteen Republican Members joined Rep. Bacon as original cosponsors: Reps. Rick W. Allen (GA-12), Mark E. Armodei (NV-02), Andy Barr (KY-06), Dan Bishop (NC-08), Tim Burchett (TN-02), John R. Carter (TX-31), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Michael Guest (MS-03), Dusty Johnson (SD-At large), Mike Johnson (LA-04), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), John Rutherford (FL-05), Lloyd Smucker (PA-11), Pete Stauber (MN-08), Bryan Steil (WI-01), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24). An additional 24 Republicans joined as cosponsors. 

The legislation removes existing prohibitions and will allow trained professionals to respond quickly to emergencies, should they happen to be in public places such as shopping malls, school zones, mass transit, etc.

“LEOSA offers real solutions to address threats such as terrorism and mass shootings by ensuring that our retired and off-duty law enforcement officers can exercise their right to concealed carry – no matter where they live or visit,” said Bacon. “These measured changes will make existing law stronger and more workable for those who seek its benefits while maintaining the rigorous standards that currently apply.”

“I also would like to thank Judiciary Committee Chairman Rep. Jim Jordan for helping me to guide this important legislation to passage,” said Bacon. “His support was meaningful and appreciated.”

Locally, the sheriffs of the three counties for Nebraska’s 2nd Congressional District supported the legislation: Douglas County Sheriff Aaron Hanson, Sarpy CountySheriff Jeff Davis, and Saunders County Sheriff Kyle Coughlin.

The bill also was endorsed by the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP), the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association (FLEOA), The Air Marshal Association, the FBI Agents Association (FBIAA), International Union of Police Associations, Major Cities Chiefs Association, National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO), Peace Officers Research Association of California (PORAC), San Francisco Veteran Police Officers Association, and Special Police Organization of New Jersey, International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP).